Veteran’s Day Outing

On Veteran’s Day of this year, my wife and I attended the Free Lunch for Veteran’s given annually at the local Applebee’s Restaurant as we did last year. I wrote this following letter on returning home later that evening to my family.

 

Hi all;

I had to say something about what happen to me, November 11, 2011. Nida (my wife) and I went to the 185th Avenue Applebee’s Restaurant for lunch. I knew beforehand about the nice spread they put on free for Veterans as we attended it last year also. Only this time was a little different.

While seated at our table, waiting for our order to be delivered, I happen to spot several children moving amongst the crowds. And believe me, the place was packed with additional people outside in the cold waiting for their name on the list to be called. Anyway, after seeing the children, I absently thought they were just with their parents as I noticed a few women and men following behind them.

I then saw two young boys that stopped at the table next to us and spoke with the five Veterans seated there. Dismissing it from my mind, I went back to scanning a drink menu for a bit when I felt a small hand rest upon my arm. I looked up to see a young boy of about eight years of age, look me in the eyes and was saying something. Due to the din in the restaurant, I asked him to repeat what he had said and so he did.

“Are you a Veteran?”, he asked. I said that I was, whereupon he handed me an obviously hand-made card and then, offered his hand. I took it in mine and shook it gently. I told him of my appreciation for such a kind gesture and thanked him again. He took the half-step to close on me and leaned forward toward my ear. I leaned toward him waiting to hear what he wanted to tell me. He told me just three words, three words that brought tears to my eyes.

He said, “You’re my hero.” It was like a punch in the stomach. The tears started a little just then, as I watched him move on to the next table past Nida and I. Now admittedly in the past I have had many individuals walked up to me, grab my hand, my arm or shoulder, even one that gave me a peck on the cheek, all thanking me for my service. I’ve been thanked by men, women, boys and girls from around thirteen and up. But this male was the youngest and a proper gentleman at that.

After meeting this young man and thinking if this is what our youngest generation is like, it has allayed my mind of any fears or doubts whatsoever in knowing we are leaving this world in good hands.

May He bless them all,

Love, Denny & Nida

 

Now here are scans of both sides of that card he gave me.

 

Your My Heroscan0002

 

For those that have trouble reading the small print, here is what it says:

 

Heroes

In war, there are lives taken and lives risked

Men and women giving there best to defend what they love

They defend their country

Their honor

Their people

 

Some call them soldiers

Others call them heroes

 

Our veterans have risked their lives for us

They have lived through difficulty and fought with honor

 

Many have killed

And regret doing so

 

For every life, there is a soul

For every soul, there is a life

 

For those who have died, we show great appreciation

For those who live, along with them live the horrific memories of battle

 

Some, memories of defeat

Some, memories of victory.

 

Our veterans were more than soldiers

They were, and still are heroes

Indeed!  Bless them all!

SparkChaser4

Leave a Reply

